Martyna Jatkauskaite winning the 2010 Gold Medal

The Gold Medal

The Guildhall School’s premier music prize was founded and endowed by Sir H. Dixon Kimber in 1915 and since the 1950s it has been open to singers and instrumentalists in alternate years. The final traditionally takes place in May each year in a sold-out Barbican Hall.

Previous winners include Jacqueline du Pré (1960), Tasmin Little (1986), and Bryn Terfel (1989). 

In recent years, the Gold Medal has launched the careers of:

Natalya Romaniw 
In the 2011/12 season Natalya (soprano, 2011) sang Mozart’s Requiem with Swansea Philharmonic Choir, Haydn’s Nelson Mass and Duruflé’s Requiem at Sherbourne, Giunia Lucio Silla and a concert of Mozart arias in Baden Baden for Classical Opera Company, and cover of the Countess Le Nozze di Figaro for the Glyndebourne Festival. She is currently an Associate Artist with the Classical Opera Company and in May 2012 won the first prize and the song prize in the Kathleen Ferrier Competition. In the 2012/13 season Natalya joins Houston Grand Opera’s prestigious Young Artist Program.

Anna Stéphany
Anna Stéphany (soprano, 2005), won the Kathleen Ferrier Award, went on to study at the National Opera Studio and now performs at an international level, including concerts with the Academy of St Martin in the Fields, Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra, Britten Sinfonia, BBC Symphony Orchestra, Royal Philharmonic Orchestra and with Sir Colin Davis and the London Symphony Orchestra at both the Barbican and Carnegie Hall.

Anna-Liisa Bezrodny
Anna-Liisa Bezrodny (violin, 2006) has had solo performances with the Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra, the Helsinki National Opera Orchestra and the Haydn Chamber Orchestra. In 2007 she made her Wigmore Hall and Cadogan Hall debuts, and in 2008 won awards from the Ricci Foundation and Making Music Foundation. Other recent activities include a debut recital in the Berlin Kontzerthaus, a concerto with the Bach Orkester of Leipzig in Cologne Philharmonie, a concerto tour with Tallinn Chamber Orchestra under maestro Eri Klas, and the release of her debut CD.

Katherine Broderick
Katherine Broderick (soprano, 2007) also won the Kathleen Ferrier Award in the same week, studied at the National Opera Studio and went on to appear twice at the BBC Proms, singing Woglinde Götterdämmerung with the BBC Symphony Orchestra and Donald Runnicles in 2007, and the Young Lover Il Tabarro with the BBC Philharmonic Orchestra and Gianandrea Noseda in 2008. Other recent projects include Erste Dame Die Zauberflöte for Glyndebourne on Tour and Bruckner Mass in F minor with the BBC Symphony Orchestra and Jiri Belohlávek.

Sasha Grynyuk
Sasha Grynyuk (piano, 2008) went on to be a Fellow at the Guildhall School and also won the Guildhall Wigmore Recital Prize, receiving a recital at the Wigmore Hall as his award. During 2008/09 he won the Yamaha Music Foundation of Europe Piano Scholarship and was the overall winner of the 2008 Tunbridge Wells International Young Concert Artists Competition and winner of 1st Prize in the Piano section. He was recently selected as a ‘Rising Star’in BBC Music Magazine and International Piano magazine.

Gary Griffiths
Gary (baritone, 2009) went on to study on the School's Opera Course, and made his professional debut with Welsh National Opera in the role of Guglielmo (Cosi fan tutte) in the 2010-11 season. In 2011-2012 Gary will be an Associate Artist at WNO where his roles will include Masetto (Don Giovanni), Claudio (Béatrice et Bénédict) and Schaunard in a new production of La bohème

Martyna Jatkauskaite
Martyna (piano, 2010) has appeared as a soloist with the Lithuanian National Symphony Orchestra, Lithuania Chamber Orchestra, Kaunas Symphony Orchestra and the London Festival Orchestra. In 2011 she won the Giorgios Thymis International Piano Competition, and she recently released her debut CD.

Gold Medal Winners since 1980

  • 2013, Magdalena Malendowska
  • 2012, Ashley Fripp
  • 2011, Natalya Romaniw
  • 2010, Martyna Jatkauskaite
  • 2009, Gary Griffiths
  • 2008, Sasha Grynyuk
  • 2007, Katherine Broderick
  • 2006, Anna-Liisa Bezrodny
  • 2005, Anna Stephany
  • 2004, Boris Brovtsyn
  • 2003, Susanna Andersson 
  • 2002, David Cohen 
  • 2001, Sarah Redgwick 
  • 2000, Maxim Rysanov 
  • 1999, Natasha Jouhl 
  • 1998, Alexander Somov 
  • 1997, Konrad Jarnot 
  • 1996, Stephen de Pledge 
  • 1995, Jane Stevenson 
  • 1994, Richard Jenkinson 
  • 1993, Nathan Berg 
  • 1992, Katherine Gowers 
  • 1991, William Dazeley 
  • 1990, Eryl Lloyd-Williams 
  • 1989, Bryn Terfel 
  • 1998, Simon Smith 
  • 1987, Juliet Booth 
  • 1986, Tasmin Little 
  • 1985, Peter Rose 
  • 1984, Kyoko Kimura 
  • 1983, Carol Smith 
  • 1982, Simon Emes 
  • 1981, Susan Bickley 
  • 1980, Julian Tear 
You have access to some of the best musicians in London and all the knowledge they have about their profession.

Thanihan Jeyapalan
BMus Bassoon

I've had amazing masterclasses with great musicians such as Richard Goode and Paul Lewis.

Grace Yeo
MMus Piano

A world-class staff, whose dedication and passion inspire students to achieve their utmost potential.

Anna Anandarajah
BMus Vocal Studies

The performance opportunities available through Guildhall are second to none, and act as a springboard into the profession.

Edward Pick
Postgraduate Piano

The School’s reputation of providing world-class tuition and support for every student has proved to be true – I have been supported every step of the way.

Ben Gernon
BMus Tuba

I am thrilled with my teacher; every session confirms the decision to be here studying with him.

Charlie Mellor
MMus Opera Studies

It’s amazing to be learning from some of the leading figures in the contemporary music scene, teachers who constantly inspire and who truly wish you to succeed.

Sylvia Lim
BMus Composition

Music Tour

  • Explore our Music facilities with Guildhall students