Guildhall Symphony Orchestra

  • 7:30pm
Roberto González-Monjas conducts the GSO in a rehearsal


About this event:

Classical Music
Event type:
Booking required | In-person
£14-£25 (£12 concessions) Booking fees apply
Barbican Hall

Event information

Guildhall Symphony Orchestra, under the baton of Roberto González-Monjas, performs Respighi’s three tone poems about Rome, including Pines of Rome, widely considered as Respighi’s greatest work and praised for its emotional orchestration. The programme begins with Andrea Torrodi’s Ascent, written in 2014-15, a work in seven movements which begins in the stillness of an ocean trench and ends in the placidity of outer space.

Highly sought-after as a conductor and violinist, Roberto González-Monjas is Chief Conductor of the Musikkollegium Winterthur in Switzerland, Music Director of the Galicia Symphony Orchestra, and designate Chief Conductor of the Mozarteumorchester Salzburg. In addition, Roberto is Principal Guest Conductor of the Belgian National Orchestra and Artistic Director of Iberacademy in Colombia.

Access the free digital programme for this performance here.

Programme & Performers

Venue information

The Barbican Hall is located within the main Barbican building. Head to Level G and follow the signs to find your seating level. 

Public transport
The Barbican is widely accessible by bus, tube, train and by foot or bicycle. Plan your journey and find more route information in ‘Your Visit’.

Barbican Centre
Silk Street, London
  • Bars/cafes
  • Restrooms
  • Hearing facility
  • Assistance dogs permitted
  • Spaces for wheelchair users
Parking available

Book your car parking space in advance.